Camel Book Drive

Donate To Kenya’s Mobile Library

What Books Are Wrong For the Camel Library?

BOOKS NOT TO DONATE: We want to get the camel library the kinds of books they most need. Based on my time spent with the camel library as well as consultations with the camel librarian, Mr. Farah, books you might consider donating elsewhere include: religious inspirational books, textbooks, books about American, European or religious holidays, books with lots of slang, or racy adult books.

The best books to send are non-religious and with reading levels from ages 3 to 4 up to young adult.

June 29, 2001 - Posted by | Donate

6 Comments »

  1. Are you interested in receiving gently used/read books?
    My book club might be interested in forward our books
    of the month on to you after our review of the book. We
    are all retired professional adults; but I have contacts
    with parents who would have children’s books for all ages.
    I just returned from Africa (but not to Kenya, unfortunately) and I recognize the need for African children
    as well as adults to have books. J. Ayers

    Comment by Jeanette Ayers | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. Dear Masha,

    I am a science teacher and have some textbooks that we are no longer using.

    Would these be of any help?

    Cheryl

    Comment by Cheryl Mill | February 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. i am trying to place an order thru Powells but they are asking for a zip or postal code. without the correct address i cannot complete my order. if someone could help me that would be great. thanks in advance.

    Comment by Lynne | March 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. I am going to school for nursing and have some textbooks like CPR, chemistry, etc. Would any of these be of interest??

    Comment by shana bahr | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. I am in the 6th grade. everyone in my class read the Chronicles of Narnia. I thought it would be nice to collect everyone’s books and donate them to the camel library if you think they would like it. Can you tell me if Narnia is a good book for people in Africa to read? thank you, angelica

    Comment by Angelica Jacaruso | April 11, 2008 | Reply

  6. The club I run at my school (Aspiring Authors Club) collected a lot of books and wish to donate them to your organization. There is a large range of books some of them for children, some for young adults, and some that I can’t really give an age range. Would it be okay if I simply sent all of them or do you want me to stay within the age range? Either way, we wish to contribute. Thank you. Christina

    Comment by Christina Gunning | July 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

